5 December 2012 1:22 PM, PST | Thompson on Hollywood | See recent Thompson on Hollywood news »

The Directors Guild announces the recipients of four achivement awards, set to be handed out at their 65th annual awards dinner on February 2. These honorees are in addition to the previously announced recipient of the Guild's Lifetime Achievement Award for Motion Picture Direction, Milos Forman. Director Michael Apted will receive the DGA’s Robert B. Aldrich Award, recognizing his service to the DGA and its membership; Eric Shapiro will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award in News Direction; Susan Zwerman will receive the Frank Capra Achievement Award, recognizing her career as a Unit Production Manager and Assistant Direcotor and service to the Guild; and Dency Nelson will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award, recognizing his career as a Stage Manager and service to the Guild. Of Apted, Guild president Taylor Hackford states, “The service and dedication of our members is our Guild’s greatest strength, and no one embodies these. »

- Sophia Savage

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Michael Apted
Frank Capra
Taylor Hackford

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners