3 December 2012 11:09 AM, PST | Rope of Silicon | See recent Rope Of Silicon news »

The New York Film Critics Circle announced their Best of 2012 winners today and it was a slow-moving, up-and-down affair. All the momentum seemed to be going the way of Steven Spielberg's Lincoln as it nabbed wins for Best Screenplay (Tony Kushner), Actor (Daniel Day-Lewis) and Supporting Actor (Sally Field), but in the end it was Kathryn Bigelow's Zero Dark Thirty that swooped in and took Best Picture. Greig Fraser was awarded Best Cinematography early in the day for Zero Dark Thirty and after a swath of awards for Lincoln it wasn't until Bigelow took home Best Director -- her second win from the org, which also awarded her in 2009 for The Hurt Locker -- that the tide began to turn. Only minutes later the film was awarded Best Picture. As far as awards perspective goes and what this may mean for the Oscar race, last year the group »

- Brad Brevet

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Steven Spielberg
Matthew McConaughey
The Hurt Locker (2008)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners