3 December 2012 9:54 AM, PST | Gold Derby | See recent Gold Derby news »

"Zero Dark Thirty" won Best Picture from the New York Film Critics Circle. The 78th annual editions of these awards, which were announced Monday after a marathon five-hour meeting of the circle, mark the start of the year-end kudos calvacade. Prizes will be presented at a Jan. 7 ceremony.  "Zero Dark Thirty" helmer Kathryn Bigelow claimed her second Best Director award from the Circle, three years after winning for "The Hurt Locker," which also won the Best Picture prize. She made Oscar history that year, becoming the first woman to win Best Director and her film took the top award there as well. Greig Fraser won for his lensing of this film that follows the decade-long hunt for Osama Bin Laden.  As expected, Oscar favorite Daniel Day-Lewis was named Best Actor by the Nyfcc for "Lincoln." He has already won four awards from the Circle: Best Actor for "My Left Foot" (1989), Ga. »

Report a problem

Similar News Items

The Hurt Locker (2008)
Zero Dark Thirty (2012)
Kathryn Bigelow (I)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners