28 November 2012 1:29 PM, PST | Thompson on Hollywood | See recent Thompson on Hollywood news »

Milos Forman will receive the Directors Guild of America's Lifetime Achievement Award at the 65th annual DGA Awards on February 2. DGA president Taylor Hackford calls Forman "one of the greatest filmmakers of our time," and says “No matter what subject or genre he tackles, Milos finds the universality of the human experience in every story, allowing us – his rapt audience – to recognize ourselves within the struggle for free expression and self-determination that Milos so aptly portrays on the silver screen.” The recipient of this award is chosen by past and present presidents of the DGA. In the guild's 76 years, 33 other directors have been given the honor. The list of recipients is below. Forman's work includes "One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest," "Amadeus," "The People vs. Larry Flint," "Man in the Moon" and "Goya's Ghost." His films have earned 33 Oscar nominations »

- Sophia Savage

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Taylor Hackford
Milos Forman
Amadeus (1984)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners