27 November 2012 11:23 AM, PST | Gold Derby | See recent Gold Derby news »

"Simpsons" and "Futurama" mastermind Matt Groening will be honored by the WGA. From the press release: "Iconic animation writer-producer Matt Groening, perhaps best known for creating the long-running, acclaimed animation series 'The Simpsons,' will receive the Writers Guild of America, West Animation Writers Caucus’ (Awc) 15th Annual Animation Writing Award, recognizing his outstanding contributions to the craft of animation writing, as well as his assistance in organizing primetime animation with the Wgaw. The Awc’s lifetime achievement award will be presented to Groening this Wednesday, November 28, at the Awc’s annual meeting, reception, and awards ceremony at Wgaw headquarters in Los Angeles. 'Futurama' co-developer David X. Cohen will present this year’s award to Groening, with Wgaw President Christopher Keyser set to introduce the evening." Examining how the changed Oscar schedule is affecting campaigns »

Report a problem

Similar News Items

"The Simpsons" (1989)
Matt Groening
"Futurama" (1999)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners