26 November 2012 11:59 AM, PST | Digital Spy | See recent Digital Spy - Movie News news »

The BBC has released the 12-strong shortlist for this year's Sports Personality of the Year award, which is filled with London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic stars. Cyclist and the first ever British Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins is the early bookmakers' favourite for the crown, but will face stiff competition from fellow gold medal winners Jessica Ennis and Mo Farah. Grand Slam and Olympic tennis champion Andy Murray, rower Katherine Grainger, boxer Nicola Adams, sailor Ben Ainslie and cyclist Sir Chris Hoy are also included. Paralympians on the list include Sarah Storey, Ellie Simmonds and David Weir. The only non-Olympic star on the list is golfer Rory McIlroy. Viewers will be able to pick the winner of the iconic award via a phone vote on the night of December 16. Following criticism (more) »

- By Alex Fletcher

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Andy Murray (V)
Grand Slam (1967)
Rory McIlroy

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners