21 November 2012 2:21 PM, PST | Flickeringmyth | See recent Flickeringmyth news »

It has been announced that Michael Gambon (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2) and Jude Law (Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows) will be honoured at this year's British Independent Film Awards.

Gambon will receive the Richard Harris Award for his outstanding contribution to British film. He took over Harris' role as Professor Albus Dumbledore in the Harry Potter film series following Harris' death in 2002. Previous recipients of this award, which was introduced 10 years ago, include Ralph Fiennes (Skyfall), John Hurt (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) and Helena Bonham Carter (Dark Shadows).

Law will be presented with the Variety Award, for helping to bring international attention to the UK. Previous recipients of this award include Kenneth Branagh (My Week With Marilyn), Helen Mirren (Red) and Michael Caine (The Dark Knight Rises). The British Independent Film Awards ceremony will be held in London on December 9th.

Gambon can next be »

- Emma

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Channing Tatum
The Dark Knight Rises (2012)
Steven Soderbergh

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners