20 September 2012 9:29 AM, PDT | Thompson on Hollywood | See recent Thompson on Hollywood news »

The Academy's Board of Governors has elected screenwriter Robin Swicord ("Memoirs of a Geisha," "Little Women" ) to replace the late Frank Pierson and represent the Writers Branch along with Bill Condon and Phil Robinson. She will serve until the next election, which is in June of next year. She joins the few women on the board of 43; they are Academy CEO Dawn Hudson, first vice president Cheryl Boone-Isaacs, vice president Kathleen Kennedy, producer Gale Anne Hurd, actress Annette Bening, editor Anne V. Coates, directors Kathryn Bigelow and Lisa Cholodenko and designer Rosemary Brandberg. Swicord (along with Eric Roth) was nominated for Best Adapted Screenplay for "Benjamin Button" and made her directorial debut in 2007 with "The Jane Austen Book Club," which she also adapted from Karen Joy Fowler's novel. Her daughter Zoe Kazan just wrote and starred in "Ruby Sparks." »

- Sophia Savage

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Kathryn Bigelow (I)
Bill Condon
Kathleen Kennedy (I)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners