20 August 2012 10:40 AM, PDT | Deadline TV | See recent Deadline TV news »

Los Angeles and New York – The Writers Guild of America, West (Wgaw) and the Writers Guild of America, East (Wgae) have launched their call for submissions for the 2013 WGA Documentary Screenplay Award, honoring outstanding achievement in documentary feature writing. Submissions for the WGA’s top doc writing award may be received from August 20 through November 16, 2012. WGA Documentary Screenplay nominees will be announced on January 3, 2013, as well as Original and Adapted Screenplay nominees. The WGA Documentary Screenplay Award will be presented, along with other film, TV, new media, radio, news, and videogame award categories, at the 2013 Writers Guild Awards on Sunday, February 17, 2013, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City. First presented in 2005 to spotlight the writer’s primary role in documentary filmmaking’s collaborative creative process, previous WGA Documentary Screenplay Award recipients have included writer-directors Morgan Spurlock (Super Size Me in 2005), two-time WGA winner Alex Gibney (Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room »


Report a problem

Similar News Items

Morgan Spurlock
Alex Gibney (I)
Charles Ferguson (III)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners