10 August 2012 11:37 AM, PDT | Filmmaker Magazine - Blog | See recent Filmmaker Magazine news »

Next month, Filmmaker will be partnering with the website Filminute, an annual online short film competition, by hosting five of the 25 one-minute films shortlisted for this year’s contest, which offers both a juried Best Filminute prize and the audience-selected People’s Choice Award. (In previous years, jurors have included District 9 director Neill Blomkamp, writer Michael Ondaatje, Iranian filmmaker Samira Makhmalbaf and Crash director Paul Haggis.)

The site is currently accepting entries for this year’s competition, with the submission deadline on August 20, and the entry criteria are as follows:

Your film must be 60 seconds – no more, no less. Produce your one-minute piece at broadcast quality. Consider your viewing audience – from mobile phones, to broadband to televisions, to theatre screens. Contributors must be the sole author(s) of the entry. You may submit more than one film in accordance with the official Filminute rules and regulations. No unauthorized use of copyrighted material. »

- Nick Dawson

Report a problem

Similar News Items

District 9 (2009)
Neill Blomkamp
Paul Haggis

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners