22 February 2012 1:32 PM, PST | Indiewire | See recent Indiewire news »

Breaking from the awards season pack in a pretty significant way, the International Cinephile Society announced that Asghar Farhadi's "A Separation" led the winners of their 9th annual awards.  "A Separation" took prizes for best picture, best ensemble, best screenplay and best film not in the English language. Other major winners included Terrence Malick, who took best director for "The Tree of Life," and actors Tom Cullen ("Weekend"), Brad Pitt ("The Tree of Life"), Anna Paquin and J. Smith-Cameron (both for "Margaret"), who each took a top honor in an acting category. Formed in 2003, the International Cinephile Society is an online group made up of approximately 80 accredited journalists, film scholars, historians and other industry professionals who cover film festivals and events on five continents. Each year the Ics honors the finest in American and international cinema. Complete list of winners »

- Peter Knegt

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Brad Pitt
Anna Paquin
Terrence Malick

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners