11 January 2012 12:38 PM, PST | Alt Film Guide | See recent Alt Film Guide news »

Asa Butterfield, Chloë Moretz, Hugo Guillaume Schiffman, Afc (The Artist), Jeff Cronenweth, Asc (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), Robert Richardson, Asc (Hugo), Hoyte van Hoytema, Fsf, Nsc (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), and Emmanuel Lubezki, Asc, AMC (The Tree of Life) are the five nominees for the 2012 American Society of Cinematographers (Asc) Awards, now in their 26th year. The winner will be announced at the Asc Awards ceremony at the Hollywood and Highland Grand Ballroom on February 12. Glaringly absent from the shortlist is Janusz Kaminski's work on War Horse, the Steven Spielberg World War I drama that has been performing well enough at the domestic box office, but that has been — surprisingly — generally bypassed by the various guilds. Kaminski's absence from the Asc Awards' roster is particularly surprising because his work on War Horse has been widely praised, and he has already been nominated four times in the past. »

- Andre Soares

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Steven Spielberg
Christopher Nolan (I)
Quentin Tarantino

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners