9 November 2011 9:43 AM, PST | The Wrap | See recent The Wrap news »

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association's board of directors has named Morgan Freeman recipient of the 2012 Cecil B. DeMille Award, the HFPA announced on Wednesday. The DeMille is the HFPA's lifetime achievement award, and in the past has gone to Robert De Niro, Martin Scorsese, Warren Beatty, Anthony Hopkins and Alfred Hitchcock, among others. The embattled organization staged a press conference and brought in two celebrities, actress Amy Adams and director Pedro Almodovar, to make the announcement of the single award. "Academy Award-winning actor Morgan Freeman is one of the most recognizable figures »

- Steve Pond

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Martin Scorsese (I)
Amy Adams (III)
Robert De Niro

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners