2 December 2009 4:00 AM, PST | The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News | See recent The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News news »

Cologne, Germany -- For this first time since its launch in 1997, next year's Shooting Stars event will not include an actor from either Germany, France or Spain.

The Shooting Stars jury on Wednesday announced the 10 young acting talents that will take part in the event, which runs Feb. 13-15 during the Berlin International Film Festival (Feb 11-21, 2010).

And, with the exception of British actor Edward Hogg ("White Lightnin") and Italy's Michele Riondino ("The Past is a Foreign Land") all of the talents come from smaller European countries.

Central and Eastern Europe is well represented, with four Shooting Stars including Poland's Agata Buzek ("Within the Whirlwind"), Czech actor Krystof Hadadek ("Three Seasons in Hell"), Romanian actor Dragos Bucur ("The Way Back) and Croatia's Zrinka Cvitesic, who stars in "Nat putu" the new film from Golden Bear winner Jasmila Zbanic ("Esma's Secret -- Grbavica") which is widely expected to compete in Berlin next year. »

- By Scott Roxborough

Report a problem

Similar News Items

The Way Back (2010/I)
Robert Sheehan (II)
Dieter Kosslick

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners