Evanescence Poster


Trivia (13)

Co-founders Ben Moody (ex-guitarist) and Amy Lee (vocals) met at a camp in 1994, where they began working together on music.
Before choosing Evanescence, the band went by several short-lived names, including "Stricken" and "Childish Intentions".
Prior to Ben Moody's exit in 2003, he and Amy Lee would write alone and then put their song ideas together. Only one song that was written by both of them physically in the same room was ever recorded. The track was called "Catherine", and was scrapped from the album "Origin" before its release in 2000.
Most of the songs on the 2003 release of Fallen were written from 2001-2002. Some tracks are from even earlier writing sessions, the oldest being My Immortal, whose first recording was made in 1997.
When guitarist Terry Balsamo entered in 2004, his new band members referred to him as "Banana Baggins" or "T Baggins".
Against the band's wishes, three songs were removed from the final Fallen track listing before its release. Two of these tracks ("Missing" and "Farther Away" are available as B-sides and bonus cuts to import singles and albums, while "Breathe No More" is availible on the soundtrack to the movie "Elektra".
The band was told that adding a rapper permanently to the line-up was their only chance at finding success.
Their first concert was in December of 1998.
Released their new self-titled album Evanescence on October 11, 2011.
In an official press release on 26th April 2006, announced that their new album "The Open Door" will be released on the 3rd October (2006). [April 2006]
The self-titled album Evanescence debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 for the week of October 15, 2011.
Debut album "Fallen" is 7x platinum.
Band Members: Amy Lee (vocals, piano), Terry Balsamo (guitar), Troy McLawhorn (guitar), Tim McCord (bass) and Will Hunt (drums).

See also

Other Works | Publicity Listings | Official Sites | Contact Info

Contribute to This Page