IMDb > Marvin Levy > News
Top Links
biography by votes awardsNewsDesk
overviewby type by year by ratings by votes awards by genre by keyword
biography other works publicity photo galleryNewsDesk
External Links
official sites miscellaneous photographs sound clips video clips

Connect with IMDb

2015 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2005

3 items from 2015

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected 2015–16 Board of Governors

10 July 2015 12:21 PM, PDT | | See recent news »

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected 2015–16 Board of Governors. A runoff election is required for the Writers Branch. “I’m excited to welcome our four new governors to the Board and congratulate those who have been reelected,” said Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs. “Our Board is made up of some of the most experienced and respected professionals in our industry, and we look forward to working with them on our ongoing goals of increasing member engagement and expanding the Academy’s outreach to our global film community.” Those elected to the Board for the first time are Lois Burwell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch; Michael Giacchino, Music Branch; Rory Kennedy, Documentary Branch; and Daryn Okada, Cinematographers Branch. Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include Jim Bissell, Designers Branch; Tom Hanks, Actors Branch; Kathleen Kennedy, Producers Branch; John Knoll, Visual Effects Branch; Bill Kroyer, »


Permalink | Report a problem

Academy Diversity Moving Forward With 17 Women on the Board

10 July 2015 12:05 PM, PDT | Variety - Film News | See recent Variety - Film News news »

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences now has 17 women on the board of governors, compared to 14 for the past year.

The org unveiled its new board members Friday morning. Elected to the board for the first time are Lois Burwell, makeup artists and hairstylists branch; Michael Giacchino, music branch; Rory Kennedy, documentary branch; and Daryn Okada, cinematographers branch.

Incumbent governors re-elected to the board include Jim Bissell, designers branch; Tom Hanks, actors branch; Kathleen Kennedy, producers branch; John Knoll, visual effects branch; Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation branch; Michael Mann, directors branch; Scott Millan, sound branch; Deborah Nadoolman Landis, costume designers branch; and Bernard Telsey, casting directors branch.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are governors Jim Gianopulos, executives branch; Marvin Levy, public relations branch; and Carol Littleton, film editors branch.

There are 51 members on the board, with three reps from each of the Academy’s 17 branches. »

- Tim Gray

Permalink | Report a problem

Academy Elects Michael Giacchino, Rory Kennedy to Board of Governors

10 July 2015 12:02 PM, PDT | The Wrap | See recent The Wrap news »

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has elected 17 members of its Board of Governors, with nine incumbents returning to the board and composer Michael Giacchino, documentary filmmaker Rory Kennedy, makeup artist Lois Burwell and cinematographer Daryn Okada claiming seats as first-time governors. Three other former governors will return to the board, with executive Jim Gianopoulos, public relations executive Marvin Levy and film editor Carol Littleton reclaiming seats they once held. One seat remains unfilled, with Larry Karaszewski and Billy Ray tying in the contest for an open seat in the Writers Branch. A runoff election between the two. »

- Steve Pond

Permalink | Report a problem

2015 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2005

3 items from 2015, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners