Susan Zwerman - News Poster


2013 Directors Guild Awards Winners Announced

The winners of the Directors Guild of America Outstanding Directorial Achievement Awards for 2012 were announced tonight during the 65th Annual DGA Awards Dinner at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles. Ben Affleck won the DGA's Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for Argo.

Other winners of the night include Rian Johnson for the Breaking Bad episode "Fifty-One", and Jay Roach for the TV movie Game Change.

Director/producer/actor Kelsey Grammer hosted the ceremony before an audience of more than 1,600 guests. Here is the full list of winners:

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film

Ben Affleck, Argo (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials

Alejandro Gonz&#225lez I&#241&#225rritu, (Anonymous Content)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series

Rian Johnson, Breaking Bad, "Fifty-One" (AMC)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs

Brian Smith, Masterchef, "Episode #305" (Fox)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies For Television and Mini-Series

Jay Roach,
See full article at MovieWeb »

Ben Affleck wins Directors Guild Award for 'Argo'

  • Pop2it
The Directors Guild Awards has been an extremely reliable predictor of the Oscar winner for best director over the years. It won't be this year, though.

Ben Affleck, who isn't nominated for a directing Oscar for "Argo," won the DGA Award for feature films Saturday night (Feb. 2). He beat out fellow nominees Kathryn Bigelow ("Zero Dark Thirty"), Tom Hooper ("Les Miserables"), Ang Lee ("Life of Pi") and Steven Spielberg ("Lincoln").

Affleck's Oscar snub is looking ever more curious as he's now won the DGA Award, a Golden Globe and a Critics' Choice Award for his direction of "Argo."

Related: Oscar snubs and surprises

All the DGA Award winners:

Feature film: Ben Affleck, "Argo"

Documentary: Malik Bendjelloul, "Searching for Sugar Man"

TV movie/miniseries: Jay Roach, "Game Change"

Drama series: Rian Johnson, "Breaking Bad" - "Fifty-One"

Comedy series: Lena Dunham, "Girls" - "Pilot"

Musical variety: Glenn Weiss, "66th Annual Tony Awards"

Reality programs: Brian Smith,
See full article at Pop2it »

DGA Awards Achievers Michael Apted, Eric Shapiro, Susan Zwerman & Dency Nelson

The Directors Guild announces the recipients of four achivement awards, set to be handed out at their 65th annual awards dinner on February 2. These honorees are in addition to the previously announced recipient of the Guild's Lifetime Achievement Award for Motion Picture Direction, Milos Forman. Director Michael Apted will receive the DGA’s Robert B. Aldrich Award, recognizing his service to the DGA and its membership; Eric Shapiro will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award in News Direction; Susan Zwerman will receive the Frank Capra Achievement Award, recognizing her career as a Unit Production Manager and Assistant Direcotor and service to the Guild; and Dency Nelson will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award, recognizing his career as a Stage Manager and service to the Guild. Of Apted, Guild president Taylor Hackford states, “The service and dedication of our members is our Guild’s greatest strength, and no one embodies these.
See full article at Thompson on Hollywood »

DGA To Honor Michael Apted With Its Robert B. Aldrich Award

DGA To Honor Michael Apted With Its Robert B. Aldrich Award
Michael Apted, Eric Shapiro, Susan Zwerman and Dency Nelson have been selected to receive four special DGA Awards at the Directors Guild of American’s awards dinner on Feb. 2. Apted will be honored with the DGA’s 2013 Robert B. Aldrich Award, for extraordinary service to the DGA and to its membership. Shapiro will receive the DGA’s 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award in News Direction. Zwerman will be given the 2013 Frank Capra Achievement Award, which is given to an assistant director or unit production manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the DGA. The 2013 Franklin

read more
See full article at The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News »

Directors Guild to Honor Michael Apted, 3 Others With Lifetime Awards

  • The Wrap
Directors Guild to Honor Michael Apted, 3 Others With Lifetime Awards
Michael Apted, Eric Shapiro, Susan Zwerman and Dency Nelson will be honored with awards for career achievement and service to the DGA at the 65th Directors Guild of America Awards on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013. "The service and dedication of our members is our Guild's greatest strength, and no one embodies these qualities more than Michael Apted," DGA president Taylor Hackford said while announcing the awards Wednesday.  "Michael has packed more Guild service into the 15 years since he was first elected to the Western Directors Council than most can do in
See full article at The Wrap »

Get Set for a New Guidebook to the VFX World

The Visual Effects Society has released one of its major projects, the “Ves Handbook of Visual Effects.” The 960-page tome is written by some 89 visual effects pros and edited by vfx supervisor Jeffrey A. Okun, chair of the Ves, and vfx producer Susan Zwerman. It is meant to be a comprehensive guide for anyone who works in the field or needs to know how vfx production works. It also covers stereoscopic 3D, color management, digital intermediate, interactive games and full animation. The Ves has long sought to demystify visual effects and the handbook has been a central part of that effort.
See full article at FilmNewsBriefs »

Oken elected VES chair

Jeffrey A. Okun has been elected chair of the Visual Effects Society for a one-year term by the group's new board and will succeed outgoing chair Carl Rosendahl. Other newly elected board leaders are first vice chair Ray Feeney, second vice chair Tim McGovern, treasure Ray Scalice and secretary Pam Hogarth. New members elected to the board include Mat Beck, Jerome Chen, Jonathan Erland, Warren Franklin, Hogarth, Gene Kozicki, John Knoll, Marshall Krasser, Tim McGovern, Loni Peristere, Tim Sarnoff, Ray Scalise, Mark Stetson, Richard Winn Taylor II and Susan Zwerman.

See also

Credited With | External Sites