IMDb > Norman Taurog > News
Top Links
biography by votes awardsNewsDeskmessage board
overviewby type by year by ratings by votes awards by genre by keyword
biography other works publicity photo galleryNewsDeskmessage board
External Links
official sites miscellaneous photographs sound clips video clips

Connect with IMDb

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

2 items from 2012

Five directors and their questionable filmmaking techniques

13 January 2012 7:47 AM, PST | Den of Geek | See recent Den of Geek news »

Directors have long gone to rather worrying extremes to get an authentic performance from their actors. Here are five memorable examples…

“We were in the jungle. We had too much money. We had too much equipment. And little by little, we went insane” said director Francis Ford Coppola at the start of the 1991 documentary, Hearts Of Darkness. He was referring to his quixotic approach to making Apocalypse Now in 1979, but Coppola could equally have been talking about the process of filmmaking in general.

Not all directors literally end up in the jungle, of course, and some don’t even have access to lots of money or equipment, but they’re all wrestling with a creative process that involves actors, props, set designers, technical concerns, and all the other little details that ultimately result in the 90–120 minutes of footage that appear in cinemas.

This pressure may at least partially explain why »

Permalink | Report a problem

DGA Awards vs. Academy Awards: Usually But Not Always a Match

9 January 2012 3:40 PM, PST | Alt Film Guide | See recent Alt Film Guide news »

Ralph Fiennes in Oscar nominee (but not DGA nominee) Stephen Daldry's The Reader In 1948, the 12-year-old Directors Guild of America (DGA), then known as the Screen Directors Guild (Sdg), began handing out annual achievement awards. Three Best Director Oscar winners — Frank Capra, John Ford, and Norman Taurog — alongside George Sidney, Delmer Daves, H. Bruce Humberstone, Irving Pichel, and, ex-officio, Guild president George Marshall took part in the initial Awards Committee in the selection of the Directors Guild Award honorees. The DGA Awards' first winner was Joseph L. Mankiewicz for A Letter to Three Wives, a critically acclaimed comedy-drama that would earn Mankiewicz a Best Director Academy Award the following year. Before 1970 (awards handed out in 1971), the Guild's list of finalists consisted of a variable number of directors, almost always more than five. From 1970 on, when the Directors Guild began restricting its list of motion picture nominees to five directors per year, »

- Andre Soares

Permalink | Report a problem

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

2 items from 2012, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners