Vin Scully Poster


Jump to: Overview (4) | Mini Bio (1) | Spouse (2) | Trivia (13)

Overview (4)

Born in Bronx, New York, USA
Birth NameVincent Edward Scully
Nicknames The Voice of the Dodgers
Height 5' 10" (1.78 m)

Mini Bio (1)

Vin Scully was born on November 29, 1927 in Bronx, New York, USA as Vincent Edward Scully. He is an actor, known for For Love of the Game (1999), Celebrity Challenge of the Sexes (1977) and 1983 MLB All-Star Game (1983). He has been married to Sandra Hunt since November 10, 1973. They have one child. He was previously married to Joan Crawford.

Spouse (2)

Sandra Hunt (10 November 1973 - present) (1 child)
Joan Crawford (15 February 1958 - 26 January 1972) (her death) (3 children)

Trivia (13)

Received baseball's Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasters, 1982.
Vin Scully was inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame in 1995.
Was the inspiration behind Chris Carter's decision to name Gillian Anderson's character "Dana Scully" on The X-Files.
Inducted into the American Sportscasters Association Hall of Fame in 1992.
Ranked #1 by the American Sportscasters Association in its list of the Top 50 Sportscasters of All-Time (January 2009).
Has called four perfectly pitched games in his career, with three of them being against the Dodgers. Don Larsen, NYY, 10/8/1956; Sandy Koufax, LA, 9/9/1965; Tom Browning, CIN, 9/16/1988; Denis Martinez, MON, 7/28/1991.
He was awarded a Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame for Radio at 6675 Hollywood Boulevard in Hollywood, California.
Has embarked on his 57th season of providing play-by-play for the Dodgers. [April 2006]
Play-by-play announcer for the Los Angeles Dodgers (completing 50th year with the team) [1999]
In July 2014, the Dodgers announced that Vin Scully will return (for his 66th year) as their broadcaster for the 2015 season.
Induced into the Fordham University Athletics Hall of Fame in 1977.
He was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian award, by President Barack Obama, in a live televised ceremony held in the East Room of the White House, on November 22, 2016, along with twenty other recipients, the the largest, and final Medal of Freedom ceremony of Obama's presidency. At this ceremony, the twenty-one recipients, in alphabetical order, included: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Elouise Cobell (posthumous award given to her son), Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Richard Garwin, Bill Gates, Melinda Gates, Frank Gehry, Margaret Hamilton (as Margaret H. Hamilton), Tom Hanks, Rear Admiral Grace Hopper (posthumous award given to her niece), Michael Jordan, Maya Lin, Lorne Michaels, Newton Minow, Eduardo Padron (as Eduardo Padrón), Robert Redford, Diana Ross, Vin Scully, Bruce Springsteen, and Cicely Tyson.

See also

Other Works | Publicity Listings | Official Sites | Contact Info

Contribute to This Page