IMDb > Laura Schiff > News
Top Links
biography by votes awardsNewsDesk
overviewby type by year by ratings by votes awards by genre by keyword
biography other works publicity photo galleryNewsDesk
External Links
official sites miscellaneous photographs sound clips video clips

Connect with IMDb

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009

5 items from 2009

Casting Directors Feted at Artios Awards

3 November 2009 12:02 PM, PST | | See recent Backstage news »

Casting directors came out from behind the curtain to be honored by their peers last night at the 25th Annual Artios Awards. The bi-coastal awards, which were held simultaneously at the new Times Center in New York City and the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles, are presented yearly for outstanding achievement in casting in theater, film, and television categories on the criteria of originality, creativity, and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project.Celebrity awards presenters in New York were Patrick Wilson ("Little Children," "Angels in America"), Carrie Preston ("True Blood"), Michael Shannon ("Revolutionary Road"), Jennifer Morrison ("House"), Bill Pullman ("Oleanna"), Christine Ebersole ("Grey Gardens"), Vincent Kartheiser ("Mad Men"), and Elizabeth Reaser ("Twilight"). Stanley Tucci and producer Daryl Roth presented the New York Big Apple Award to Nora Ephron and Delia Ephron, whose "Love, Loss and What I Wore" recently opened Off-Broadway to rave reviews. »

Permalink | Report a problem

Casting group honors 'Star Trek,' 'Milk'

2 November 2009 6:00 PM, PST | The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News | See recent The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News news »

"Star Trek," "Tropic Thunder," "Milk" and "Up" were among the films honored Monday night as the Casting Society of America held its 25th Artios Awards.

At simultaneous ceremonies at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Century City and the New York Times Building in New York, "Mad Men" and "Flight of the Conchords" were singled out in the TV series categories.

The awards, which recognize originality, creativity and quality in casting, were hosted by actor John Michael Higgins.

A career achievement award was presented to producer Laura Ziskin. Nora and Delia Ephron received the New York Apple Award, and John Frank Levey was the recipient of the Hoyt Bowers Award.

On the film side, the winners were April Webster and Alyssa Weisberg for "Star Trek" in the category of studio feature, drama; Francine Maisler for "Tropic Thunder" (studio feature, comedy); Maisler and Nina Henninger (location casting) for "Milk" (indie »

- By Gregg Kilday

Permalink | Report a problem

Artios nominees unveiled

17 September 2009 11:00 AM, PDT | The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News | See recent The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News news »

Producer Laura Ziskin, writer-director Nora Ephron, writer Delia Ephron and casting director John Frank Levey will be honored at the Casting Society of America's 24th annual Artios Awards.

Simultaneous awards ceremonies will be held in at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles and the New York Times Building in New York on Nov. 2.

Ziskin is set to receive the group's Career Achievement Award. The New York Apple Award will be presented to Nora and Delia Ephron. Levy is this year's recipient of the Hoyt Bowers Award.

Representing 425 members in the United States, Canada, England and Australia, Cas also announced its nominees in film TV and theater on Thursday.

In the category of big budget feature drama, Ellen Chenoweth scored two noms for "Changeling" and "Duplicity." The category nominees are John Papsidera for "The Dark Knight"; April Webster and Alyssa Weisberg for "Star Trek" and Avy Kaufman for "State of Play. »

- By Gregg Kilday

Permalink | Report a problem

Emmy Nominations Reveal Few Surprises

16 July 2009 10:01 AM, PDT | CinemaSpy | See recent CinemaSpy news »

It's a good day for funny people, especially if your name is Tina Fey or Seth MacFarlane.

Fey's series, 30 Rock, was handed 22 Emmy nominations this morning, which stands as a record for a comedy series. She and Alec Baldwin were also nominated for acting awards. Plus, for the first time some of the other actors on NBC's laffer  were recognized. Jane Krakowski, Jack McBrayer and Tracy Morgan all picked up supporting nominations.

MacFarlane's Family Guy was also nominated for best comedy series, the first time an animated show has cracked that category since The Flintstones in 1961. Two years ago MacFarlane decided to pull his show from contention in the animated series category to have it considered for best comedy.

Mad Men, the drama about the advertising world in the sixties, picked up 16 nominations in the drama categories, including a best actor nod for Jon Hamm. Hamm is also nominated as »

Permalink | Report a problem

The 61st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards Nominations

16 July 2009 6:30 AM, PDT | MovieWeb | See recent MovieWeb news »

The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences announced the nominations for The 61st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards this morning. NBC comedy series 30 Rock lead the way with 22 nominations with the HBO telefilm Grey Gardens with 17 nominations and last year's winner for Best Drama, Mad Men, with 16 nominations. Take a look at the complete list of the nominees below.

Outstanding Voice-Over Performance

American Masters - Jerome Robbins: Something To Dance About - PBS - Thirteen/Wnet American Masters - Ron Rifkin, Narrator

Family Guy - I Dream of Jesus - Fox - Fox Television Animation - Seth MacFarlane as Peter Griffin

Robot Chicken - Robot Chicken: Star Wars - Episode II - Cartoon Network - ShadowMachine - Seth Green as Robot Chicken Nerd, Bob Goldstein, Ponda Baba, Anakin Skywalker, Imperial Officer

The Simpsons - Eeny Teeny Maya Moe - Fox - Gracie Films in Association with 20th Century Fox Television »

Permalink | Report a problem

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009

5 items from 2009, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners