No photo available. Represent Myfanwy Piper? Add or change photos at IMDbPro
Up 4,075,130 this week

Myfanwy Piper (1911–1997)

Myfanwy Piper was born on March 28, 1911 in Southwark, London, England as Mary Myfanwy Evans. She was a writer and actress, known for Owen Wingrave (2001), Death in Venice (1990) and Death in Venice (1981). She was married to John Piper and John Piper. She died on January 18, 1997 in Fawley Bottom, Buckinghamshire England, UK. See full bio »

IMDb Picks: June

Visit our IMDb Picks section to see our recommendations of movies and TV shows coming out in June, brought to you by Swiffer.

Visit the IMDb Picks section

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDbPage

Connect with IMDb

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Myfanwy Piper's work have you seen?

User Polls

Known For


Jump to: Writer | Actress | Self
Hide Hide Show Show Writer (12 credits)
 2010 Death in Venice (Video) (libretto)
 2004 Turn of the Screw by Benjamin Britten (TV Movie) (libretto)
 2001 Le tour d'écrou (TV Movie) (libretto)
 2001 Owen Wingrave (TV Movie) (libretto)
 1994 The Turn of the Screw (TV Movie) (libretto)
 1991 The Turn of the Screw: Britten (TV Movie) (libretto)
 1990 Death in Venice (TV Movie) (libretto)
 1982 The Turn of the Screw (TV Movie) (libretto)
 1981 Death in Venice (TV Movie) (libretto)
 1971 NET Opera Theater (TV Series) (libretto - 1 episode)
- Owen Wingrave (1971) ... (libretto)
 1959 The Turn of the Screw (TV Movie) (libretto)
Hide Hide Show Show Actress (1 credit)
 1937 Artists and Their Work (TV Series) (as Myfanwy Evans)
Hide Hide Show Show Self (1 credit)
 1983 Time with Betjeman (TV Series documentary)
- Episode dated 27 February 1983 (1983) ... Herself

Personal Details

Alternate Names:

Myfanwy Evans

Did You Know?


English librettist of Welsh descent. See more »

Star Sign:


Message Boards

Discuss Myfanwy Piper on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page