Denis O'Hare Poster

Other Works

  • Co-starred on Broadway in Roundabout Theatre Company revival of 'Major Barbara,' beginning June 2001.
  • Appearing off-Broadway in "Helen" (2002)
  • (June 2002) : Played "Mason Marzac" in "Take Me Out", a play by Richard Greenberg (Donmar Warehouse, London, England, UK).
  • Appeared as Chicago's "Roxie Hart" in "Miscast", an MCC Theatre Benefit which featured Broadway stars singing songs from roles they would never actually play. Other performers included Daphne Rubin-Vega (performing songs from "The Sound of Music") and Kristin Chenoweth (performing songs from "Dreamgirls") (19 Apr 2004).
  • Performed in "Cabaret" on Broadway as "Herr Ludwig" with Alan Cumming and Natasha Richardson.
  • (May 2005) : Plays "Oscar" in "Sweet Charity", a musical by Neil Simon, Cy Coleman and Dorothy Fields (Al Hirschfeld Theatre, New York City, New York, USA).
  • (February 2007) : He played "Mariano" in "A Spanish Play", a play by Yasmina Reza (Classic Stage Company, New York City, New York, USA).
  • (1986) He acted in John Logan's play, "Never the Sinner", at the Stormfield Theatre in Chicago, Illinois, with Bryan Stillman in the cast. Terry McCabe was the director.
  • (1987) He acted in John Logan's play, "Hauptmann", at the Stormfield Theatre in Chicago, Illinois. Terry McCabe was the director.
  • (1987) He acted in John Olive's play, "The Voice of the Prairie", at the Wisdom Bridge Theatre in Chicago, Illinois.
  • (1988) He acted in the play, "Sneaky Feelings," at the Remains Theatre in Chicago, Illinois.
  • (1989) He acted in John Logan's play, "Music from a Locked Room", at the Victory Gardens Theater in Chicago, Illinois.
  • (1992) He acted in John Logan's play, "Hauptmann", at the Victory Gardens Theater in Chicago, Illinois. Terry McCabe was the director.
  • (April 2004) : Played "Charles Guiteau" in "Assassins", a musical by John Weidman and Stephen Sondheim (Studio 54, New York City, New York, USA).
  • (2007) Stage Play: Inherit the Wind. Drama (revival). Written by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee. Associate Director: Mark Schneider. Scenic Design by Santo Loquasto. Directed by Doug Hughes. Lyceum Theatre: 12 Apr 2007- 8 Jul 2007 (100 performances + 27 previews that began on 19 Mar 2007). Cast: Brian Dennehy (as "Matthew Harrison Brady"), Christopher Plummer (as "Henry Drummond"), Byron Jennings (as "Rev. Jeremiah Brown"), Denis O'Hare (as "E.K. Hornbeck"), Terry Beaver (as "Judge"), Anne Bowles (as "Mrs. Loomis/Townsperson"), Steve Brady (as "Townsperson"), Bill Buell (as "Mr. Bannister"), Bill Christ (as "Vendor/Townsperson"), Carson Church (as "Gospel Quartet"), Conor Donovan (as "Howard"), Lanny Flaherty (as "Elijah"), Kit Flanagan (as "Townsperson"), Beth Fowler (as "Mrs. Brady"), Sherman Howard (as "Townsperson"), Katie Klaus (as "Gospel Quartet"), Maggie Lacey (as "Rachel Brown"), Jordan Lage (as "Tom Davenport"), Mary Kate Law (as "Gospel Quartet"), Philip LeStrange (as "Townsperson"), Kevin Loomis (as "Monkey Man/Townsperson"), David M. Lutken (as "Gospel Quartet"), Charlotte Maier (as "Mrs. Krebs/Townsperson"), Matthew Nardozzi (as "Timmy/Townsperson"), Randall Newsome (as "Photographer/Townsperson"), Jay Patterson (as "Dunlap/Townsperson"), Pippa Pearthree (as "Mrs. Blair/Townsperson"), Scott Sowers (as "Meeker"), Amanda Sprecher (as "Melinda"), Erik Steele (as "Reuter's Reporter/Harry Y. Esterbrook/Townsperson"), Jeff Steitzer (as "Mayor"), Henry Stram (as "Mr. Goodfellow"), Benjamin Walker (as "Bertram Cates"), Andrew Weems (as "Sillers/Townsperson"). Understudies: Anne Bowles (as "Rachel Brown"), Steve Brady (as "Dunlap/Elijah/Sillers"), Bill Christ (as "Mr. Goodfellow/Rev. Jeremiah Brown"), Kit Flanagan (as "Mrs. Blair/Mrs. Brady/Mrs. Krebs"), Sherman Howard (as "Henry Drummond/Monkey Man"), Jordan Lage (as "E.K. Hornbeck"), Philip LeStrange (as "Judge/Mayor/Mr. Bannister"), Kevin Loomis (as "Meeker/Reuter's Man"), Matthew Nardozzi (as "Howard/Melinda"), Erik Steele (as"Bertram Cates/Photographer") and Jeff Steitzer (as "Matthew Harrison Brady"). Produced by Boyett Ostar Productions, The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman. Philip J. Smith: President. Robert E. Wankel: Executive Vice President), Lawrence Horowitz, Jon Avnet, Ralph Guild, Roy Furman, Debra Black, Daryl Roth, Bill Rollnick, Nancy Ellison Rollnick and Stephanie McClelland. Associate Producer: Judith Resnick.
  • (October 2010 - November 7, 2010) His stage adaptation of Robert Fagles' translation of Homer's play, "An Iliad", was performed at the McCarter Theater Center in Princeton, New Jersey with Stephen Spinella in the cast. Lisa Peterson was the director. Rachel Hauck was the set designer. Scott Zielinsky was the lighting designer. Mark Bennett was the music composer and director. Brian Ellingsen was the double bass player.
  • (September 11, 1985) He played Nathan Leopold Jr. in John Logan's play, "Never the Sinner," at the Stormfield Theatre in Chicago, Illinois with Bryan Stillman (Richard Loeb); Jerry Bloom (State's Attorney's Crow); Richard Burton Brown (Clarence Darrow); Mitch Webb; Thomas Carroll; and Donna Powers in the cast. Russ Borski was was set designer. Russ Borski and Mary Quinlan were lighting designers. Terry McCabe was director.
  • (March 6, 2014 - April 6, 2014) He and Lisa Peterson adapted Homer's play, "An Iliad," at the Public Theater in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with Teagle F. Bougere (Poet); in the cast. Jesse Berger was director. Robert Flages was translator. Marion Williams was scenic and costume designer. Seth Reiser was lighting designer. Ryan Rumery was composer of original music and sound designer. Fred Noel was production stage manager. Kelly Haywood was assistant stage manager. Ted Pappas was production artistic director.

See also

Biography | Publicity Listings | Official Sites | Contact Info

Contribute to This Page