No photo available. Represent Osamu Dazai? Add or change photos at IMDbPro
Up 121,493 this week

Osamu Dazai (1909–1948)

Dazai was born of a rich and mighty family in North Japan in 1909. In 1930, he went to Tokyo to study French literature, but he spent most of his time writing. It was not until his third attempt at suicide in 1935 that his stories were published. His final, and this time, successful, attempt at suicide was in 1948. See full bio »


(age 38) in Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan

IMDb Picks: March

We want to watch "Feud: Bette and Joan" in a bar while surrounded by friends and drag queens. See which other movies and TV shows we're excited about this month.

Visit IMDb Picks

Related News

Blue Literature Anime (2009) Review
| AsianMoviePulse
Reviewing the Mail: Yen Press

Around The Web


Powered by ZergNet

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDbPage

Connect with IMDb

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Osamu Dazai's work have you seen?

Known For

Viyon no tsuma
Ningen shikkaku
Aoi Bungaku Series
Pandora no hako


Hide Hide Show Show Writer (14 credits)
 2013 Joseito 1936 (short stories)
 2012 ... Hiro! Fujihiro! (Short)
  Dazai osamu tanpen shôsetsu shû 3 (TV Series) (based on a short story by - 2 episodes, 2010) (based on the stories by - 1 episode, 2010)
- Goodbye (2010) ... (based on a short story by)
- Kachikachi yama (2010) ... (based on a short story by)
- Kakekomi uttae (2010) ... (based on the stories by)
 2010 Ayashiki bungô kaidan (TV Series) (novel "Cherry Leaves and the Magic Flute" - 1 episode)
- Hazakura to mabue (2010) ... (novel "Cherry Leaves and the Magic Flute")
  Bungo: Nihon bungaku shinema (TV Series) (novel - 1 episode, 2010) (based on the novel by - 1 episode, 2010)
- Guddobai (2010) ... (novel)
- Ougon fuukei (2010) ... (based on the novel by)
 2010 Ningen shikkaku (based on the novel by)
 2009 Aoi Bungaku Series (TV Series) (original story)
 2009 Pandora no hako (based upon the novel by)
 2009 Viyon no tsuma (short story)
 2009 Shayô (novel)
 1966 Kiganjô no bôken (story "Hashire Merosu")
 1963 Mashiroki Fuji no ne (story)
 1949 Goodbye (novel)
 1944 Yottsu no kekkon (story)

Did You Know?

Star Sign:


Contribute to This Page