Top Links
biography by votes awardsNewsDeskmessage board
overviewby type by year by ratings by votes awards by genre by keyword
biography other works publicity photo galleryNewsDeskmessage board
External Links
official sites miscellaneous photographs sound clips video clips

Connect with IMDb

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

2 items from 2007

Washington discharged from 'Grey's Anatomy'

8 June 2007 | The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News | See recent The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News news »

Dr. Preston Burke packed his bags on the season finale of ABC's Grey's Anatomy last month. Now Isaiah Washington, the actor who has played him for the past three seasons, is doing the same.

On Thursday, ABC Studios, which produces Grey's, made a decision not to pick up Washington's option for next season.

In his reaction to the firing, Washington channeled Paddy Chayefsky. "I'm mad as hell, and I'm not going to take it anymore," he said in a statement released through his publicist.

The dismissal follows months of speculation about Washington's future on the show after the furor caused by his use of anti-gay slur in reference to his castmate T.R. Knight. Knight recently closed a deal to continue on the hit medical drama.

While the first media report about Washington's alleged use of the slur on the set of "Grey's" appeared in October, it was Washington's repeat of the offensive remarks during a backstage press conference at the Golden Globes in January -- while denying he'd said the slur earlier -- that ignited the public outcry. »

Permalink | Report a problem

Wells earns WGA's TV writing prize

4 January 2007 | The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News | See recent The Hollywood Reporter - Movie News news »

The WGA West will honor producer-writer John Wells with its Paddy Chayefsky Laurel for excellence in television writing.

Wells, who has won six Emmys on shows including The West Wing and ER, will be feted at the 2007 Writers Guild Awards, set for Feb. 11 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Century City.

"John's place in the pantheon of television writers and creators is secure, and yet he continues to earn it anew every award season," WGAW president Patric Verrone said. "I find myself regularly in awe of John's achievements as a writer, as a colleague and as a friend."

Wells, whose other successful TV series have included Third Watch and China Beach, was WGAW president from 1999-2001. A nominee in six previous Writers Guild Awards, he is nominated this year for an episode of West Wing, Election Day, Part II.

The Paddy Chayefsky Laurel is given annual to "writers who have advanced the literature of television throughout the years and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the television writer."

Previous recipients include Steven Bochco, Larry Gelbart, Rod Serling and David E. Kelley. »

Permalink | Report a problem

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

2 items from 2007

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners