No photo available. Represent Louis Cha? Add or change photos at IMDbPro
Up 103,230 this week

Louis Cha

Louis Cha was born on June 6, 1924 in Haining, Zhejiang Province, China. He is a writer and director, known for Ashes of Time (1994), Shu jian en chou lu (1987) and Swordsman II (1992). See full bio »

Fall TV Guide

Find out everything you need to stay up to date with the upcoming season in our Fall TV Guide!

Visit the Fall TV Guide

On Amazon Video

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 84 people
created 16 Jun 2015

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDbPage

Connect with IMDb

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Louis Cha's work have you seen?

User Polls

Known For

Ashes of Time
Ashes of Time Writer
Shu jian en chou lu
Swordsman II
Swordsman II Writer
The Swordsman
The Swordsman Writer


Jump to: Writer | Director | Self
Hide Hide Show Show Writer (70 credits)
 2013 Swordsman (TV Series) (novel)
 2009 The Heaven Sword and Dragon Saber (TV Series) (story)
 2006 Shen diao xia lu (TV Series) (novel)
 2003 Legend of Eagle Shooting Hero (TV Series) (novel)
 2001 Shin chou kyou ryo: Condor Hero (TV Series) (novel)
 2001 Laughing in the Wind (TV Series) (novel)
 2000 Xiao ao jiang hu (TV Series)
 1999 Suet saan fei wu (TV Series) (novel)
 1998 The Return of the Condor Heroes (TV Series) (novel - 1998)
 1998 The Return of the Condor Heroes (TV Series) (novel - 40 episodes)
- Episode #1.40 (1998) ... (novel)
- Episode #1.39 (1998) ... (novel)
- Episode #1.38 (1998) ... (novel)
- Episode #1.37 (1998) ... (novel)
- Episode #1.36 (1998) ... (novel)
 1998 Luk ding gei (TV Series) (novel)
 1997 Tin lung bak bo (TV Series) (novel)
 1995 Sun diu hap lui (TV Series) (novel)
 1994 Ashes of Time (novel "The Eagle Shooting Heroes")
 1993 Kung Fu Cult Master (novel)
 1993 Fei hu wai zhuan (novel)
 1993 The Eagle Shooting Heroes (novel)
 1992 Royal Tramp II (novel)
 1992 Royal Tramp (novel)
 1992 Swordsman II (novel "Proud Smiling Wanderer")
 1990 The Swordsman (novel)
 1989 Lin shing kuet (TV Series) (novel)
 1987 Xiang xiang gong zhu (novel)
 1987 Shu jian en chou lu (novel - as Yung Kam) / (screenplay - as Yung Kam)
 1986 Yi tian tu long ji (TV Series) (novel)
 1985 Suet san fei wu (TV Mini-Series)
 1985 Bik hue gim (TV Series)
 1984 Xin fei hu wai chuan (novel)
 1984 Luk ding gei (TV Series) (novel)
 1984 Siu mo kong wu (TV Series) (novel)
 1983 Yang guo yu xiao long nu (novel)
 1983 Return of the Condor Heroes (TV Series) (novel)
 1983 Avenging Dragon (story)
 1982 Ode to Gallantry (story - as Yung Chin)
 1982 Tin lung bak bo (TV Series) (novel)
 1982 Brave Archer 4 (novel)
 1982 She diao ying xiong zhuan (TV Series) (novel)
 1982 Xin tian long ba bu (story)
 1981 Shu Jian en chou lu (novel "The Book and the Sword")
 1981 The Knight of the Dazzling Scimitar (story - as Yong Jin)
 1980 Legend of the Fox (novel)
 1980 Swift Sword (story)
 1978 Chivalrous Killer (novel)
 1978 The Brave Archer II (story)
 1978 Yi tian tu long ji (TV Mini-Series) (writer)
 1978 The Proud Youth (story)
 1978 Di san ba fei dao (novel)
 1977 Tian long ba bu (story)
 1977 The Brave Archer (story)
 1976 Shu gim yan sau luk (TV Series)
 1969 Tie gu chuan (story)
 1961 Yuan yang dao xia ji (story)
 1961 Yuan yang dao shang ji (story)
 1960 Shu jian en chou lu (novel)
 1958 Bi xie jian (novel)
 1958 She diao ying xiong zhuan (story)
 1958 Lan hua hua (writer)
 1958 You nu huai chun (writer)
 1958 Xiao ge zi gu niang (writer)
 1956 San lian (as Huan Lin)
 1953 Jue dai jia ren (as Huan Lin)
Show Show Director (2 credits)
Show Show Self (1 credit)

Personal Details

Alternate Names:

Liang-Yung Cha | Yung Chin | Yong Jin | Yung Kam | Huan Lin

Did You Know?


World's largest-selling author of martial arts novels, with over 300 million copies of his works sold through 2004.

Star Sign:


Message Boards

Recent Posts
Greatest writer of all time? keeperofthelore
Discuss Louis Cha on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page