Robert Brown Poster


Jump to: Overview (3) | Mini Bio (1) | Spouse (1) | Trivia (4)

Overview (3)

Date of Birth 23 July 1921Swanage, Dorset, England, UK
Date of Death 11 November 2003Swanage, Dorset, England, UK
Birth NameRobert James Brown

Mini Bio (1)

Robert Brown was born on July 23, 1921 in Swanage, Dorset, England as Robert James Brown. He was an actor, known for The Living Daylights (1987), Octopussy (1983) and A View to a Kill (1985). He was married to Rita Becker. He died on November 11, 2003 in Swanage.

Spouse (1)

Rita Becker (1955 - 11 November 2003) (his death) (2 children)

Trivia (4)

He was born and died in Swanage, Dorset, where his father had been coxswain of the town's lifeboat. In 1992, a lifeboat was named "Robert Charles Brown" after his father.
He went from playing Roger Moore's servant on Ivanhoe (1958) to becoming his superior in the Bond movies, starting with Octopussy (1983).
Studied acting in New York City at both the New School for Social Research's Dramatic Workshop and the American Theater Wing.
Succeeded Bernard Lee as M in the James Bond films. However, it is not know if he is meant to be the same character, Admiral Sir Miles Messervy, or a different character promoted to be director of MI6. Complicating matters is the fact that Brown played a different character in The Spy Who Loved Me (1977). Brown's picture also does not appear in the office of the next M, Judi Dench, but Lee's does.

See also

Other Works | Publicity Listings | Official Sites | Contact Info

Contribute to This Page