Morris Ankrum Poster

Other Works

  • (1923) Stage: Appeared (as "Rogers"; credited as Morris W. Ankrum; Broadway debut) in "In the Next Room" on Broadway. Melodrama. Written by Eleanor Robson Belmont (credited as Eleanor Robson; final Broadway credit) and Harriet Ford. Produced (w/Winthrop Ames) / directed by Guthrie McClintic. Vanderbilt Theatre: 27 Nov 1923-Apr 1924 (closing date unknown/159 performances). Cast: Arthur Albertson (as "James Godfrey"), Edward Butler, Mary Kennedy, Claude King (as "Felix Armand"), William J. Kline, Wright Kramer (as "Philip Vantine"), Merle Maddern, George Riddell, Leighton Stark (as "Inspector Grady"; final Broadway role), Olive Valerie. NOTE: Filmed as The Case of the Black Parrot (1941).
  • (1924) Stage: Appeared (as "Dr. Wachler") in "The Assumption of Hannele" on Broadway. Written by Gerhart Hauptmann [final Broadway credit]. Cort Theatre: 15 Feb 1924-Feb 1924 (closing date unknown/3 performances). Cast: Georgia Backus (as "Third Woman"), Charles Ellis (as "Hanke"), Edward Forbes (as "Pleschke"), Charles Francis (as "Mattern"), Mrs. Edmund Gurney (as "Tulpe"), Alice John (as "Sister Martha, The Deaconess"), Teddy Jones (as "A Child"), Paul Kalkhurst (as "Schmidt, A Police Official"), Eva Le Gallienne (as "Hannele"), Paul Leyssac (as "Berger, a Magistrate"), Merle Maddern (as "The Form of Hannele's Dead Mother"), Agnes McCarthy (as "Second Woman"), Owen Meech (as "The Village Tailor"), Basil Rathbone (as "Gottwald, a Schoolmaster" / "The Stranger"), Olive Valerie (as "Hete"), Florence Walcott (as "First Woman"), Henry Warwick (as "Seidel, a Woodcutter"). Produced by John D. Williams.
  • (1925) Stage: Appeared in "The Blue Peter" on Broadway.
  • (1925) Stage: Appeared (as "Manuel de Castillo") in "The Fountain" on Broadway. Written by Eugene O'Neill. Scenic Design by Macklin Morrow. Directed by Robert Edmond Jones. Greenwich Village Theatre: 10 Dec 1925-Jan 1926 (closing date unknown/28 performances). Cast: Ralph Benzies, Stanley Berry, Egon Brecher (as "Luis de Alvaredo"), Curtis Cooksey (as "Nano"), Ray Corning, Liza Dallett, Rosalinde Fuller, Walter Huston (as "Juan Ponce de Leon"), Perry Ivins (as "Alonzo de Oviedo"), Philip Jones, Pauline Moore (as "Maria de Cordova"), Henry O'Neill (as "Christopher Columbus" / "Father Superior"), William Stahl (as "Pedro" / "A Soldier"), Edgar Stehli (as "Vincente de Cordova" / "Friar Quesada"), John Taylor, Crane Wilbur (as "Diego Menendez"). Produced by Kenneth Macgowan, Robert Edmond Jones and Eugene O'Neill.
  • (1926) Stage: Appeared in "Glory Hallelujah" on Broadway.
  • (1926) Stage: Appeared in "The Good Fellow" on Broadway. Comedy.
  • (1927 Stage: Wrote (w/Vincent Duffey) "The Mystery Man" on Broadway. Melodrama. Nora Bayes Theatre: 26 Jan 1927- Apr 1927 (closing date unknown/100 performances). Directed / produced by Gustav Blum. Cast: Cameron Clemens (as "Dr. Osborn"), Marjorie Dalton (as "Evelyn Wells"), Willard Dashiell (as "Mr. Prince"), Gail De Hart (as "Alice Prince"), Roger De Koven (as "Anson"; Broadway debut), Robert Farrell (as "Jerome Tuttle"), Oscar Hewes (as "Dixon"), John O. Hewitt (as "Ross"), Weldon Heyburn (as "Robert Wheeler"), Allyn Joslyn (credited as Allyn Morgan Joslyn; as "Philip Jones"), Sizuo Kawata (as "Yogo"), George Lessey (as "Inspector Harrison"), Allan Nagle (as "Detective Clancy"), Reo Suga (as "Togo").
  • (1928) Stage: Appeared (as "Spiker") in "Gods of the Lightning" on Broadway. Drama. Written by Maxwell Anderson and Harold Hickerson. Directed by Hamilton MacFadden. Little Theatre,: 24 Oct 1928-Nov 1928 (closing date unknown/29 performances). Cast: Jules Artfield (as "Heine"), Charles Bickford (as "Macready"), Harry Bliven (as "Bartlett"), Horace Braham (as "Capraro"), Robert Brister (as "Salter"), Leo Bulgakov (as "Suvorin"), Maynard Burgess (as "Lubin"), Del Cleveland (as "Assistant to the District Attorney"), Samuel Coit (as "Sowerby"), Eva Condon (as "Mrs. Lubin"), Edward Cutler (as "Clerk of the Court"), Willard Dashiell (as "Haslet"), Henry Engel (as "Sheriff Henry"), Jules Ferrar (as "Bauer"), Benjamin Fesseden (as "Policeman"), Moss Fleisig (as "Jerusalem Slim"), John R. Hamilton (as "Gluckstein"), Thomas Kelly (as "Andy"), Barton MacLane (as "Ward"), Arthur Pederson (as "Pete"), Molly Ricardel (as "Salvation Lassie"), Lloyd Sabine (as "Police Sergeant"), Sylvia Sidney (as "Rosalie"), Sam Silverbush (as "Ike"), Ian Wolfe (as "Milkin"), Douglas Wood. Produced by Hamilton MacFadden and Kellogg Gary.
  • (1929) Stage: "Buckaroo". Comedy/melodrama.
  • (1934) Stage: Appeared (as "The Atheist") in "Within the Gates" on Broadway. Drama. Incidental music by Milton Lusk and Lehman Engel [earliest Broadway credit]. Written by Sean O'Casey. Choreographed by Elsa Findlay. Directed by Melvyn Douglas. National Theatre: 22 Oct 1934-Feb 1935 (closing date unknown/141 performances). Cast: Mildred Albert, Charles Angelo (as "The Man in the Trilbey Hat"), George Augustin, Tony Barone, Mordecai Bauman, Phil Bishop, Suzanne Black, Kenneth Bostock, Mary Brandt, Edward Broadley (as "1st Evangelist"), Victor Bryant, Tomes Chapman, Kathryn Collier (as "The Bishop's Sister"), Ralph Cullinan (as "The Foreman"), Kathryn Curl, Martha Eaton, Bramwell Fletcher (as "The Dreamer"), Frank Gabrielson, Lillian Gish (as "The Young Whore"), Betty Gladstone, Anne Goddard, Miriam Goldina, Gordon Gould (as "1st Platform Speaker"), Serge Gradoff, Dorothy Higgins, Marjorie Hyder, Serge Inga, Moffat Johnston (as "The Bishop"), James Jolley, Charles Keane (as "The Man in the Burberry"), Barry Kelley (as "The Gardener"), Robert Kerr, Stanley Klein, Karl Kohrs, Ellen Larned (as "The Woman Who Feeds the Birds"), Alexander Lewis, Ellen Love, Byron McGrath (as "A Young Salvation Army Officer"), Barry Macollum (as "1st Chair Attendant"), Vera Fuller Mellish (as "1st Nursemaid"), Ram Meyer, Dodson Mitchell (as "2nd Platform Speaker"), Esther Mitchell (as "2nd Nursemaid"), Elizabeth Morgan, Mary Morris, Margaret Mower (as "Symbol of the Seasons"), John Daly Murphy (as "2nd Chair Attendant"), Gifford Nash, Jessamine Newcombe, Arthur Porter, Evangeline Raleigh, Ursula Seiler, Edith Shayne, Virginia Spottswood, Pauline Stokes, Peggy Strickland, Ralph Sumpter (as "The Young Man in Plus-Fours"), William Triest, Arthur Villars, Clyde Walters, Teddy Williams, William Williams, Rodifer Wilson, Stanley G. Wood (as "The Man in the Bowler Hat"). Produced by George Bushar and John Tuerk.
  • Stage: Co-wrote "The Mystery Man", New York City.
  • Stage: Produced "Prologue to Glory", New York City.
  • (1962) Stage: Appeared (as "Louis, King of France") in "Becket" by Jean Anouilh. Pasadena Playhouse, Pasadena, CA.
  • (1961) Stage: Directed "The Dybbuk", Pasadena Playhouse, Pasadena, CA.
  • (1930) Stage: Appeared in "The Green Goddess" on Broadway.
  • Stage: Produced "The Big Blow", New York City.
  • Stage: Produced "Pinocchio", New York City.
  • (11/30) Stage: Appeared (as "Othello") in "Othello" by William Shakespeare. Pasadena Playhouse, Pasadena, CA.

See also

Biography | Publicity Listings | Official Sites | Contact Info

Contribute to This Page