Ruby Dee Poster

Other Works

  • Book of poetry: "Glowchild".
  • Book: "My One Good Nerve" (adapted African folk tales)
  • Book: "Take It From the Top" (collected poetry, humor)
  • Playwright: "Two Ways to Count to Ten The Tower to Heaven Books With Legs"
  • (1983) Stage: Directed "Zora Is My Name".
  • (1946) Stage: Appeared in "Jeb" on Broadway. Written by Robert Ardrey. Lighting Design / Scenic Design by Jo Mielziner. Directed / produced by Herman Shumlin. Martin Beck Theatre: 21 Feb 1946-28 Feb 1946 (9 performances). Cast: Christopher Bennett, G.I. Harry Bolden, Laura Bowman, Grover Burgess, Edwin Cushman, Ossie Davis, Maurice Ellis, Edward Forbes, Reri Grist, W.J. Hackett, Owen Hewitt, Charles Holland, Morris McKenney, Grace McTarnahan, Santos Ortega, Wardell Saunders, Milton Shirah, P. Jay Sidney, Carolyn Hill Stewart, Frank M. Thomas, Percy Verwayne, Rudolph Whitaker.
  • (1959) Stage: Appeared in "A Raisin in the Sun".
  • (1961) Stage: Appeared (as "Lutiebell Gussie Mae Jenkins") in "Purlie Victorious" on Broadway. Comedy. Written by Ossie Davis. Directed by Howard Da Silva. Cort Theatre (moved to The Longacre Theatre from 20 Nov 1961-13 May 1962): 28 Sep 1961-13 May 1962 (261 performances). Cast: Ossie Davis (as "Purlie Victorious Judson"), Sorrell Booke (as "Ol' Cap'n Cotchipee"), Godfrey Cambridge (credited as Godfrey M. Cambridge; as "Gitlow Judson"), Alan Alda (as "Charley Cotchipee"), Roger C. Carmel (as "The Deputy"), Ci Herzog (as "The Sheriff"), Helen Martin (as "Missy Judson"), Beah Richards (as "Idella Landy"). Understudies: Gail Fisher (as "Lutiebell Gussie Mae Jenkins"; Broadway debut), Gloria Foster (as "Idella Landy" / "Missy Judson"), Michael Lord (as "Charley Cotchipee" / "The Deputy"), John Sillings (as "The Sheriff"), Mel Stewart (as "Gitlow Judson" / "Purlie Victorious Judson"), Mervyn Williams (as "Ol' Cap'n Cotchipee"). Produced by Philip Rose. NOTE: Filmed as Gone Are the Days! (1963).
  • (1971) Stage: Appeared in "Imaginary Invalid".
  • (1970) Stage: Appeared in "Boesman and Lena" by Athol Fugard on Broadway. NOTE: Won Drama Desk Award.
  • Stage: Appeared in "Anna Lucasta" on Broadway. NOTE: She won an Obie award.
  • (2001) Stage: Appeared in the off-Broadway play "Saint Lucy's Eyes", directed by Billie Allen and written by Bridgette A. Wimberly.
  • (???) Stage: Appeared in "The Glass Menagerie" on Broadway. NOTE: She won an Obie award.
  • Stage: Appeared in "Checkmates" on Broadway. NOTE: She won an Obie award.
  • Stage: Appeared in "The Taming of the Shrew" on Broadway. NOTE: She won Obie award.
  • (1972) Stage: Appeared in "The Wedding Band" on Broadway. NOTE: She won a Drama Desk Award.
  • Audio-book: Recorded (w/Ossie Davis audio-book version of Lorraine Hansberry's play, "A Raisin in the Sun."
  • Audio-book: Recorded both abridged and unabridged versions of Zora Neale Hurston's book, "Their Eyes Were Watching God."
  • Audio-book: Recorded the abridged and unabridged versions of Toni Morrison's book, "The Bluest Eye."
  • (1972) Stage: Appeared in "Wedding Band," at the Ivanhoe Theatre in Chicago, IL.
  • (1949) Stage: Appeared (as "Evelyn") in "The Smile of the World" on Broadway. Written / directed by Garson Kanin. Scenic Design / Lighting Design by Donald Oenslager. Costume Design by Forrest Thayer and Mainbocher. Lyceum Theatre: 12 Jan 1949-15 Jan 1949 (5 performances). Cast: Ossie Davis (as "Stewart"), Elizabeth Dewing (as "Mrs. Boros"), Ruth Gordon (as "Sara Boulting"), Sam Jackson (as "Petey"), Otto Kruger (as "Justice Reuben Boulting"), Boris Marshalov (as "Josef Boros"), Laura Pierpont (as "Alice Widmayer"), Warren Stevens (as "Sam Fenn"). Produced by The Playwrights' Company (Maxwell Anderson, Elmer Rice, Robert E. Sherwood, Sidney Howard).
  • (1943) Stage: Appeared (as "Native"; Broadway debut) in "South Pacific" on Broadway. Drama. Written by Howard Rigsby and Dorothy Heyward. Incidental music by Paul Bowles. Directed by Lee Strasberg. Cort Theatre: 29 Dec 1943-1 Jan 1944 (5 performances). Cast: Canada Lee (as "Sam Johnson"), Khigh Dhiegh (credited as Kaie Deei; as "Japanese Voice"), George Fisher (as "Native"), Emanuel Gillard (as "Native Child"), Clyde Goines (as "Native Child"), Gordon Heath (as "Native"), Danny Johnson (as "Liliboi"), Wini Johnson (as "Ruth"), Wendell K. Phillips (as "Capt. Dunlap"), James Reason (as "Native Child"), Gloria Robinson (as "Native Child"), Ledia Rosa (as "Native Child"), Louis Sharp (as "Dr. John"), Rudolph Whitaker (as "Daniel"), Frank Wilson (as "The Luluai"). Produced by David Lowe.
  • Stage: Appeared (as "Mary Tyrone") in Eugene O'Neill's "Long Day's Journey Into Night" on Broadway. NOTE: She won an Ace Award.
  • (1986) Narrator for "Ethnic Notions" director - Marlon T. Riggs
  • (1944) Stage Play: Anna Lucasta. Written by Philip Yordan. Directed by Harry Wagstaff Gribble. Mansfield Theatre: 30 Aug 1944- 30 Nov 1946 (957 performances). Cast: Georgia Burke (as "Theresa"), Alice Childress (as "Blanche"), Alvin Childress (as "Noah"), Hubert Henry (as "Eddie"), Earle Hyman (as "Rudolf") [Broadway debut], Rosetta LeNoire (as "Stella"), Canada Lee (as "Danny"), Frederick O'Neal (as "Frank"), John Proctor (as "Stanley"), George Randol (as "Joe"), Emory Richardson (as "Officer"), Hilda Simms (as "Anna"), Theodora Smith (as "Katie"), John Tate (as "Lester"). Replacement actors: Roy Allen (as "Stanley") [Alternate], Gerard Beverly (as "Lester") [Alternate], Isabelle Cooley (as "Anna"), Ruby Dee (as "Anna"), Inge Hardison (as "Stella"), [Alternate], Georgette Harvey (as "Theresa") [Alternate], Claire Jay (as "Blanche") [Alternate], Yvonne Machen (as "Anna"), Lionel Monagus (as "Officer"), John Tate (as "Danny"), Slim Thompson (as "Noah") [Alternate], Duke Williams (as "Lester"), Milton Wood (as "Eddie"). Produced by John Wildberg. Note: Filmed by Columbia Pictures Corporation as Anna Lucasta (1949), by Longridge Enterprises [distributed by United Artists] as Anna Lucasta (1958).
  • (February 11, 1959) She played Ruth Younger in Lorraine Hansberry's play, "A Raisin in the Sun," at the Blackstone Theatre in Chicago, Illinois with Glynn Turman (Travis Younger); Sidney Poitier (Walter Lee Younger); Diana Sands (Beneatha Younger); Claudia McNeil (Lena Younger); Ivan Dixon (Joseph Asagai); Lou Gossett (George Murchison); Lonne Elder III (Bobo); John Fiedler (Karl Lindner) and Douglas Turner and Ed Hall (moving men) in the cast. Philip Rose and David J. Cogan were producers. Lloyd Richards was director.
  • (October 28, 1946) She acted in Philip Yordan's play, "Anna Lucasta," at the Hanna Theatre in Cleveland, Ohio with Ossie Davis in the cast.

See also

Biography | Publicity Listings | Official Sites | Contact Info

Contribute to This Page