Awards for 2006

Excellence in Production Design Award

Variety or Awards Show, Music Special or Documentary


The 77th Annual Academy Awards: Roy Christopher (production designer), Greg Richman (art director), Steve Olson (art director), Joe Celli (assistant art director)


Wheel of Fortune: Renee Hoss-Johnson (production designer), Jody Vaclav (art director)

2005 American Music Awards: John Shaffner (production designer), Joe Stewart (production designer), Tina Miller (art director), Arthur Chadwick (art director)

Earth to America: Bruce Ryan (production designer), Mickey Moscynski (art director)

Period or Fantasy Film


Memoirs of a Geisha: John Myhre (production designer), Tomas Voth (supervising art director), Patrick M. Sullivan Jr. (art director), Greg Berry (assistant art director)


Good Night, and Good Luck.: James D. Bissell (production designer), Christa Munro (art director)

Batman Begins: Nathan Crowley (production designer), Simon Lamont (supervising art director), Steven Lawrence (senior art director), Alan Tomkins (senior art director), Peter Francis (art director), Stuart Kearns (art director), Paul Kirby (art director), Patrick Lumb (art director), Dominic Masters (art director), Su Whitaker (art director), Stephen Morahan (assistant art director), Sloane U'Ren (assistant art director), Shane Valentino (assistant art director)

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: Alex McDowell (production designer), Leslie Tomkins (supervising art director), Kevin Phipps (senior art director), David Allday (art director), François Audouy (art director), Anthony Caron-Delion (art director), Sean Haworth (art director), Andy Nicholson (art director), Matthew Gray (assistant art director), James Lewis (assistant art director), Kathy Heaser (assistant art director)

King Kong: Grant Major (production designer), Dan Hennah (supervising art director), Joe Bleakley (art director), Simon Bright (art director), Simon Harper (second unit art director), David A. Cook (additional NY streets art director), Jacqui Allen (assistant art director)

Commercial, Promo or PSA


Jeremy Reed (production designer), Felicity Nove (art director)
For Bud Light, "Headless Horseman".


Jeffrey Beecroft (production designer), Sebastian Schroder (art director), Dawn M. Severdia (assistant art director)
For DHL, "Golfballs".

Michael F. Gaw (production designer)
For AFLAC, "The Experiment".

Sean Hargreaves (production designer)
For AARP, "Kitchen Sink".

Sean Hargreaves (production designer)
For UPS, "You/They".

Contemporary Film


Walk the Line: David J. Bomba (production designer), Rob Simons (art director), John R. Jensen (art director)


The Constant Gardener: Mark Tildesley (production designer), Chris Lowe (supervising art director), Denis Schnegg (art director), Coralie Lew (assistant art director)

Crash: Laurence Bennett (production designer), Brandee Dell'Aringa (art director)

Syriana: Dan Weil (production designer), Alan Hook (art director), Andrew Menzies (art director), Daran Fulham (art director), Laurent Ott (art director)

Jarhead: Dennis Gassner (production designer), Stefan Dechant (supervising art director), Christina Wilson (art director), Marco Niro (art director - Mexico), A. Todd Holland (assistant art director), Christopher Tandon (assistant art director)

Multi-Camera Television Series


MADtv: John Sabato (production designer), D. Martyn Bookwalter (art director), Nicole Elespuru (assistant art director)
For episode #1106.


How I Met Your Mother: Steve Olson (production designer)
For the pilot episode.

Two and a Half Men: John Shaffner (production designer)
For episode "A Low Guttural Tongue Flapping Noise".

The War at Home: John Shaffner (production designer)
For the pilot episode.

Will & Grace: Glenda Rovello (production designer)
For episode "The Old Man and the Sea".

Single-Camera Television Series


Rome: Joseph Bennett (production designer), Domenico Sica (art director), Carlo Serafin (art director), Dominic Hyman (art director), Daniela Giovannoni (assistant art director)
For episode #1.


Deadwood: Maria Caso (production designer), James J. Murakami (art director), David Potts (art director), Michael J. Kelley (assistant art director)
For episode "Requiem for a Gleet".

Desperate Housewives: Thomas A. Walsh (production designer), P. Erik Carlson (art director), Steven Samanen (assistant art director)
For episode "They Ask Me Why I Believe You".

Las Vegas: Richard Toyon (production designer), Scott Meehan (supervising art director), Tom Frohling (art director)
For episode "The Real McCoy".

Lost: James H. Spencer (production designer), William F. Matthews (art director)
For episode "Orientation".

Television Movie or Mini-Series


Empire Falls: Stuart Wurtzel (production designer), John Kasarda (art director), David Stein (assistant art director), Tom Warren (assistant art director)


The Magic of Ordinary Days: Clark Hunter (production designer), Andrew Moreau (art director)

Warm Springs: Sarah Knowles (production designer), Scott Ritenour (art director), Thomas Minton (art director)

Into the West: Marek Dobrowolski (production designer), Rick Roberts (art director), Guy Barnes (art director), Janet Lakeman (assistant art director), Jackie Bagley (assistant art director), James F. Oberlander (assistant art director), Amy Morrison (assistant art director)

Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award


Distinguished Career Award


Ron Strang
Career achievement in the scenic arts.

Lifetime Achievement Award


You may report errors and omissions on this page to the IMDb database managers. They will be examined and if approved will be included in a future update. Clicking the 'Edit page' button will take you through a step-by-step process.