Awards for 2001

Excellence in Production Design Award

Variety or Awards Show, Music Special or Documentary


The 72nd Annual Academy Awards: Bob Keene (production designer), Brian J. Stonestreet (art director), Griff Lambert (art director), Keaton S. Walker (art director), Scott Welborn (assistant art director), James Nelson (assistant art director)


Miss Universe Pageant: Gerry Hariton (production designer), Vicki Baral (production designer), Mary Murdock (assistant art director), Tom Frohling (assistant art director), Constantinos Papageorgiou (assistant art director: Athens)

The 52nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards: John Shaffner (production designer), Joe Stewart (production designer), David Elkert (art director), Tina Miller (assistant art director)

MADtv: John Sabato (production designer), D. Martyn Bookwalter (art director), Cece Destefano (art director)
For episode #610.

Wheel of Fortune: Dick Stiles (production designer), Renee Hoss-Johnson (art director), Heather-Lynne Rasnick (assistant art director), Barry Williams (assistant art director)
For the New Orleans edition.

Period or Fantasy Film


Gladiator: Arthur Max (production designer), John King (supervising art director), David Allday (supervising art director), Benjamín Fernández (supervising art director), Clifford Robson (art director), Peter Russell (art director), Keith Pain (art director), Adam O'Neill (art director), José Luis del Barco (assistant art director), Carlos Bodelón (assistant art director)


How the Grinch Stole Christmas: Michael Corenblith (production designer), Dan Webster (art director), Lauren E. Polizzi (art director)

The Patriot: Kirk M. Petruccelli (production designer), Barry Chusid (art director), Tom Reta (assistant art director), Richard F. Mays (assistant art director)

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Tim Yip (production designer), Eddy Wong (art director), Zhanjia Yang (art director), Xing-Zhan Yang (art director), Jian-Quo Wang (art director), Bin Zhao (art director)

The Cell: Tom Foden (production designer), Geoff Hubbard (art director), Michael Manson (art director), Guy Hendrix Dyas (assistant art director)

Contemporary Film


Chocolat: David Gropman (production designer), John Frankish (supervising art director), Lucy Richardson (art director), Louise Marzaroli (assistant art director)


Almost Famous: Clay A. Griffith (art director), Clayton Hartley (art director), Virginia L. Randolph (art director), Eric Rosenberg (assistant art director)

Billy Elliot: Maria Djurkovic (production designer), Adam O'Neill (art director)

Wonder Boys: Jeannine Oppewall (production designer), Donald B. Woodruff (art director), Gary Kosko (assistant art director)

The Perfect Storm: William Sandell (production designer), Bruce Crone (art director), Chas. Butcher (art director), Martha Johnston (assistant art director), Kevin Ishioka (assistant art director), David Sandefur (assistant art director)

Multi-Camera Television Series


Bette: Bernard Vyzga (production designer), Rich Rohrer (assistant art director)
For the pilot.


Daddio: Jay Pelissier (production designer)
For episode "Fense and Sensibility".

DAG: Bernard Vyzga (production designer), Bryan Lane (assistant art director)
For episode "Return of Katherine Twigg".

Malcolm & Eddie: Jerry Dunn (production designer), Stephanie Marra (assistant art director)
For episode "Bullets Over Kansas City".

Nikki: John Shaffner (production designer)
For the pilot.

Single-Camera Television Series


The X-Files: Corey Kaplan (production designer), Phil Dagort (art director), Sandy Getzler (art director), Steven R. Miller (assistant art director)
For episode "Without".


Boston Public: Paul Eads (production designer), Mindy Roffman (art director)
For episode 10/23/2000.

City of Angels: Michael Baugh (production designer), Kenneth J. Creber (art director)
For the pilot.

Judging Amy: Michael L. Mayer (production designer), Scott Meehan (art director)
For episode "Spoil the Child".

Star Trek: Voyager: Richard D. James (production designer), Louise Dorton (art director)
For episode "Critical Care".

Television Movie or Mini-Series


The '70s: John T. Walker (production designer), Ron Mason (art director)


American Tragedy: Michael Baugh (production designer), Jack G. Taylor Jr. (art director)

For Love or Country: The Arturo Sandoval Story: Charles C. Bennett (production designer), Cece Destefano (art director), Nicholas Scott (assistant art director)

Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award


Lifetime Achievement Award


You may report errors and omissions on this page to the IMDb database managers. They will be examined and if approved will be included in a future update. Clicking the 'Edit page' button will take you through a step-by-step process.