Awards Central
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA

  • Honoring of TV achievements began in 1956.

Time Specification: regular

Geographic Specification: national


Golden Globe
Given: 1944-
1968: The broadcast of the ceremony is withdrawn from NBC, because the FCC accused the Hollywood Foreign Press Association of tipping off winners ahead of time and thus "misleading the public about the integrity of the awards process." The ban holds 9 years before the gala finally will be live broadcast on television again.
1969: Lionel Bart had been originally nominated for his score for Oliver!, but the nomination was declared ineligible and removed from the final voting ballot.
1989: This year marks the first and so far only three way tie in the history of the Golden Globes in the Lead Actress - Drama category.
2008: Due to the ongoing WGA writer's strike the awards ceremony is called off and the winners are read out at a press conference.

Cecil B. DeMille Award
The award is voted on by the board of directors of the HFPA for outstanding contribution to the entertainment field.

Henrietta Award
Given: 1951-1980

Hollywood Citizenship Award

Honor Award

Miss Golden Globe
Given: 1973-

Mr. Golden Globe
Given: 1995, 1996

Outstanding Merit

Samuel Goldwyn Award
Given: 1958-1963

Silver Globe
Given: 1962

Special Award

Special Journalistic Merit Award

Special Achievement Award

Special Merit Award