Location: England, UK

  • The British Academy Film Awards are the major film awards held in Great Britain.
  • The British Film Academy was formed on 16th April 1947 in a hotel room at the Hyde Park Hotel by a group of the most eminent men in British film, under the chairmanship of David Lean.
  • The first awards, designed by Henry Moore, were statues in the form of a large, bronze, seated lady valued at UK £550 each at the time, but of great value today.
  • In 1958 the British Film Academy merged with the Guild of Television Producers and Directors to form the Society of Film and Television Arts.
  • In 1976, the Academy was renamed the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.
  • Since 1998, the event has been sponsored by the mobile phone company, Orange, with the ceremony's name changed officially to the Orange British Academy Film Awards in 2000.

Time Specification: regular

Geographic Specification: national


BAFTA Film Award
Given: 1948-
1963: In the middle of the 1963 film award ceremony, a mysterious announcement requests that all ITN and BBC News employees at the ceremony return to their studios. At the end of the ceremony, guests discover that US president Kennedy has been assassinated.
1967: The BAFTA Film Awards are televised for the first time.
1998: For the first time in 29 years, there are two separate ceremonies, one for film and one for television.

Michael Balcon Award
Given: 1979-

Alexander Korda Award for Best British Film
Given: 1993-2007

David Lean Award for Direction

Anthony Asquith Award for Film Music

Carl Foreman Award for the Most Promising Newcomer

Flaherty Documentary Award

Rising Star Award
Given: 2006-
An industry jury pre-selects five nominees 18 to 32 years of age, two of which must be British. The winner will be decided on by a public vote.
The award recognizes a young actor or actress of any nationality who has demonstrated exceptional talent and ambition and has begun to capture the imagination of the British public. Nominees must also have performed a breakthrough role in a movie released in the awards year.

Audience Award
Given: -2005
The public votes on a shortlist of the year's top 10 grossing films.

60 Seconds of Fame - Best Film

60 Seconds of Fame - Best Regional Film
Given: 2009-
2009: Over 24,000 votes are cast.

John Grierson Award
Given: 1969-1976

Certificate of Merit

UN Award

Academy Fellowship

BAFTA Short Film Award
Given: 1959-1968, 1977-
In previous years the category was open to international work. However, in 1998 (for films made in 1997 only) due to the dramatic increase in short film production and in order to encourage new British film makers, the award will only be open to British/UK productions. That does not affect the animated short film category.

1998: For the first time since 1968 a stand-alone television awards ceremony is held.
2000: The stand-alone television craft awards ceremony is introduced.

Flaherty Documentary Award (TV)

Writers' Award (TV)
Given: 1982-1986

Technical Craft Award (TV)

Anthony Asquith Award for Best New British Composer (TV)

Audience Award (TV)

Shell International Award

Lew Grade Award
The award is voted for by the readers of radiotimes, listeners to BBC Local radio and viewers of GMTV (as of 1999).

Foreign TV Program Award

Alan Clarke Award

Richard Dimbleby Award

Dennis Potter Award

Mullard Award

TV Award for Originality

Special Award

BAFTA Children's Award
Given: 1996-

Writers' Award (Children's)

Special Award (Children's)

Kids' Vote

BAFTA Interactive Entertainment Award
Given: 1998-2002

BAFTA Interactive Award
Given: 2004-

BAFTA Games Award
Given: 2004-

Sunday Times Readers Award (Games)

EE Rising Star Award